top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturejadehizon03

SEE YOU AGAIN SMANCA & UII!

Updated: Feb 18, 2019

Monday, February 4



Around 7:30 in the morning, the university van picked us up. It was so sad to think that this will the last time that we will gather together in this van to go to our respective schools. Today is the farewell to our beloved schools, SMA Negeri 1 Cangkringan and Universitas Islam Indonesia. Both farewells were scheduled the same day but thankfully, not the same time. The farewell for SMANCA was schedule in 8 am while the farewell for UII was scheduled for 10:30 am. So, we went first to SMANCA.


We arrived at SMANCA around 7: 50 am. When we arrived at there, it was nostalgic. 2 weeks ago when I stepped a foot in this school, my heart was beating out loud. Now, it was a silent witness on how we, not just myself, but the four of us, SEA TEACHERS have become a better educator.


We went to school hall where the closing ceremony will happen. The closing ceremony was started by a short prayer led by Pak Yunan. Then it was followed by the speech of our Coordinator, Ibu Ima. The speech first started by expressing the UII's gratitude for accepting the four of us in this school. Next, Ibu Ima highlighted our development in 2-week practicum. She said that when she first observed us, she noticed that we are all nervous. However, during our final demonstration she observe how we able to adapt in teaching in a new environment. We are all now look calm and we know what are we doing. Furthermore, she also said that we created a bond to our students. Some of them were thrilled when we are our teachers.


It was then followed by a speech coming from Headmaster Anies. She said that she hoped that we enjoyed our stay in SMANCA even though it only for 2 weeks. She then emphasize that someday, we should go back to SMANCA. We, the four Filipino SEA TEACHERS, have the same thought--- we will definitely go back to Indonesia, we will go back to SMANCA.


Then it was the time for our cooperating teachers to say some words. My cooperating teacher, Ibu Sumiyati gave first feedbacks on my performance in the final demo. I was very happy when Ibu Petri, English teacher in SMANCA translated what Ibu Sumiyati said. I was a bit teary when I heard those positive feedback from her.


After that, we we're given a chance to give our own speech. I cannot remember everything I said in that moment because it was all impromptu and the words just pour from my heart. I just express my gratitude to the school and to my cooperating teacher and share some funny and unforgettable experiences in my two week practicum. However, I still remember the last thing I said in that speech, so I quote:


"Being part of this program is truly an unforgettable experience for me. I will definitely not forget all the good things I learned and experienced here even though I am old. These will be part of the stories I will surely share to my children".

After our speeches, Dra. Anies award us certificates of completion coming from their school. It was then followed by giving us the Batik we created last Friday! I was very happy when I saw that my Amoeba designed Batik turned out to be beautiful tote bag! This will be my gift to my mother when I go back to the Philippines.


Receiving the certificate of completion from SMANCA awarded by Dra. Anies

Receiving the Batik Tote Bag

After the closing ceremony at SMANCA, the van picked us up and went to another farewell, to our beloved Universitas Islam Indonesia.


Around 10:40 all the SEA TEACHERS were gathered at the University hall. I thought the program will turn out to be emotional and sad, but instead it was fun! It was farewell full of fun moments and performances.

Singing Filipino folk songs during the Closing ceremony at UII

In that special event, the crowd again heard the four of us sing! HAHAHAHA Pak Herman and Ir. Wiryono Raharjo, M. Arch., Ph.D, Vice Rector for Partnership and Entrepreneurship enjoyed it especially Tong-Tong-Tong-Tong-Pakitong-Kitong. It was later followed by other performances coming from other Filipino SEA TEACHERS , Thai SEA TEACHERS and even a funny performance from our buddies!


Then, Universitas Islam Indonesia award us all a certificate of completion led by Vice Rector Wiryono.



Receiving certificate of completion from UII awarded by Vice Rector Wiryono.



It was a momentous event of my life. I will quote what Pak Herman said during this closing ceremony:

"This is not a farewell, it is see you again!"

I definitely agree to what Pak Herman said. The world is so small today so there will always a chance to see again the people made my internship in Indonesia memorable and fun.


We ended the ceremony by a short prayer. Then, when we went outside there is a buffet waiting for us! Yey! For once and for all, we savored Indonesian food we will surely miss when we all went back to our respective countries.


After, those sumptuous lunch, we part ways with our coordinators. We return to van to go the our dormitories. However, we requested our driver and our buddies to have one last picture to the arc of UII. We were very happy when they granted our request.



SAMPAI JUMPA UII! SAMPAI JUMPA INDONESIA!

This would be the end of BATCH 7 but I know after this, there will always be a start of something new.

I am not the person who set a foot to Indonesia 1 month ago. It is a different "me" that will go back to the Philippines. A big thanks to SEAMEO and SEA TEACHER PROJECT, I was transformed. I was rebirth. I am now ready to be a global educator.

40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page