top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturejadehizon03

PEDAGOGICAL CONTENTS IN SMA NEGERI 1 CANGKRINGAN

Updated: Feb 18, 2019



Ibu Sumiyati facilitating a collaborative activity for her Grade 11 class.

Teaching Method

Primarily, the teaching strategies used by the teacher were governed by the following teaching methods: Learner-Centered, Collaborative and Discovery Learning.


The teacher just introduced first the topic and gave instructions to her students. Then the students did the research and presented their findings about the subject in front. In this way, the teacher is not a “Sage in the Stage” but function as “Guide at the Side”. She is the not the source of knowledge but instead just the facilitator of the knowledge and learning. She let the students create meaningful experiences for their maximum learning.


Learning Materials and Innovation

The textbook given is the main reference used inside the classroom. Powerpoint presentation was also utilized using laptop and projector. In terms of innovation, the teacher used videos and pictures to teach the subject especially when teaching about the process on how certain materials inside the body is produce or destroyed. However, I can conclude that the classroom needs more innovative teaching strategies aside from these.



Sources of Learning and Technology

Textbooks are the main source of Learning and primary reference used by the teachers and students. Some also uses the internet to get more materials for their subject especially downloading pictures, videos and work sheets the students can answer. Laptop, Projector, Speakers, software as Microsoft Word, Excel and Powerpoint are the Technology that I observed the teachers are using.


Ibu Sumiyati using projector and PowerPoint for her disscusion about the structure of skin and formation of sweat.

Authentic Assessment

An authentic assessment usually includes a task for students to perform and a rubric by which their performance on the task will be evaluated. Actually I have not observe my cooperating teacher using authentic assessment. So, I will share what authentic assessment I used during my practicum. One time, I ask my students to create and perform a jingle about how to prevent Excretory Diseases by group. I used this rubric to assess their work:

· Content and Relevance to the Concept – 50 points

· Originality – 30 points

· Creativity and Presentation – 20 points


I am very happy when they perform. Some of them sang in Bahasa Indonesia while some of them sang using English. My buddy translated it for me to understand. However, that assessment highlights the diversity of my students. I enjoyed watching them singing in the language they preferred.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page