top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturejadehizon03

A DREAM COME TRUE EXPERIENCE: VISITING BOROBUDUR TEMPLE

Updated: Feb 18, 2019



Striking a pose on one of 72 stupas in Borobodur Temple while wearing a Batik polo.

Sunday, January 27

When I first knew that I will be deployed to Universitas Islam Indonesia, Yogyakarta, I immediately search what are the tourist places I can visit when I get there. Upon browsing the internet, Borobodur Temple captured my heart. First, I haven't visit a century old temple and second, the view there is really majestic. So, I almost shout when our buddies said we will go Borobudur. Furtheremore, it is ALL EXPENSES PAID! Thank you so much UII!


So, I woke up early today, around 5 am because the bus will pick us up at 6:30 am at UII. Our buddies said that Borobudur is quite far from our place. It will take us, 30-45 minutes to get there so we have to depart early. However, we departed from the UII around 8 am due to some delays.


Groufie inside the bus.

I was so excited because aside from this trip, I was thrilled to wear the Batik polo I bought at Malioboro!



We arrived safely at Borobudur Temple around 9 am. There are a lot of people around. Ida, one of our buddies collected our student IDs so that we can avail a discount. We waited her for around 10 minutes before we get the tickets to enter the Borobudur.



Our tourist guide explaining to us the history of Borobudur Temple using a miniature.

From the entrance, we have to walked for about 5 minutes before we can see the Temple since it was situated on a hill. Actually, according to our tourist guide, the name Borobudur means, "Monastery on the hill".



Fun Groufie at the foot of Borobudur Temple.

When I saw the beauty of Borobudur Temple, these words came to my mind, which I posted on my Instagram account:

"When I was in 2nd-year college, I took a Philosophy class where I was assigned to report about Buddhism. Visiting Borobudur Temple reminded me of that class and those sleepless nights I spent researching about Buddhism. Now, I was given a chance to see this famous Buddhist temple, dating from the 8th and 9th centuries and seeing first hand those things I researched and reported 2 years ago. Life is full of surprises, isn't it? "


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page