top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturejadehizon03

BURJO, THE PLACE WHERE I HAD MY FIRST INDONESIAN DINNER

Updated: Feb 18, 2019

Thursday, January 10 (evening)

After the buddies picked us at the airport we directly go to our dormitories. As for myself, I will be staying at LAN Horse Dormitory. I spent the afternoon just sleeping since our journey going to Jogja was really tiring. When we wake up, we gather at the girls’ dormitory just 200 meters away from our place. Ida and Fakhri, some of our buddies, recommend that we can have our dinner at the Burjo—just across the Girls’ Dormitory.


Ayam Kecap is a dish which is composed of chicken, rice, noodles and tempe. The chicken is cooked with kecap, a special sweet sause popular in Indonesia. It is best served with noodles and tempe. Tempe is made up of tofu and nuts.

Burjo is a small food stall. It has chairs and tables where the customers can eat their orders. You will know that the food stall is a Burjo if the stall has the colors yellow, red and green. For dinner, I ordered this dish called Ayam Kecap. I really loved the taste and most of all, the price! The chicken was tender and sweet. The tempe (tofu) and mie (noodles) compliments the dish. Inside my mouth, flavors are bursting and exploding! Woah! Moreover, it was very cheap as compared to the meals I had in the Philippines. We had a great dinner, thanks to Burjo.

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page